Setting up Perforce (Solved)

I have a Windows 10 laptop I am going to use as a dedicated server for Perforce. I have Windows 7 Desktop that I will be working from. I have no experience with setting up Perforce. I seem to be doing some fundamentally simple thing wrong and cant get it set up right. I am not even sure it I’m even installing the right applications in the right places for what I am trying to setup. Any advice on what to do will help immensely.

Hey there Seed 37!

Here is a tutorial series that should point you in the right direction. Unreal Engine 4 / Perforce Setup - Pt 1 (Server Setup) - YouTube

Hi SE_JonF, Thanks for the speedy reply. I have watched and fallowed that tutorial and while I got a better understanding of perforce it seemed to be slightly outdated and I could not get it to work right. I have also read tutorials and watched the few videos I could find, spent some time over the last 2 weeks trying to get this set up right.

I am currently trying to fallow this Link

I guess a good question to start with is; What program do I need to install on the laptop first? p4v p4d p4s.

Made some progress this morning**.**

I installed p4d to the laptop then p4v (Said I can’t use DVCS hope I don’t need it) and I got it to connect with p4admin. But I cannot connect from the desktop. When I installed p4d I made it localhost:1666. When I try to connect I use ...*:1666 and get this error.

Connect to server failed; check $P4PORT.
TCP connect to ...:1666 failed.
connect: ..
.**:1666: WSAETIMEDOUT

-Edit-
Almost there,

It was a firewall problem on the laptop Solved Here.

Got most everything set up now for the project. I haven’t bin able to get the ignore list setup right yet.

my ignore list is

Ignore project files in the root

.sln
!
*.sln
.vs
*.suo
*.opensdf
*.sdf
*.pdb
*-Debug.dll
*.xcodeproj
.\Makefile
.\CMakeLists.txt
..ue4dependencies

ipch*

Derived data cache should never be checked in

Engine\DerivedDataCache*

Engine intermediates