Setting up Interior - Exterior Walls

Hi all

I’m new to UE4 but I have a fair understanding with 3ds Max.
So Exporting FBX files, unwrapping UV channels etc is a new thing to me.

I’ve started a new project; it’s a small apartment I’m working on. I need some advice setting up my walls.
Below IV created 2 methods. Id would like to know which method is the best going forward when working with UE4. If there’s other methods please share.

Method 1
I created individual boxes for each wall. I use proboolean to create my door and window openings. From there i convert my boxes to editable mesh and unwrap.

c7a174e394863a0d7ae706236c8b491b96dca7ec.jpeg

Method 2
I extrude my interior splines. I also extrude my exterior spline separately (hidden in image below), but this can get tedious when creating my openings for my doors and windows.
I use the shell modifier when working with a single room but it’s not the same when working with several rooms.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers
Neil

I think both methods are fine as long as your walls end up having some thickness because in unreal, the backface of any polygon is culled (performance)…and will let light pass through. I recently started to detach faces of my meshes to apply a lightmap to each face and then having higher quality lightmaps. Let’s say my wall is a big 6-faces rectangle. I wil detach the exposed parts and assign a uv unwrapping to each of them.

Same for ceiling…isntead of having the 6 faces on 1 lightmaps…I detach the visible part in the scene, assign 1 lightmap, and raise the resolution to high value, then leave the 5 other faces with low lightmap resolution since they won’t show up in-game.

Don’t be afraid to use brushes in unreal to block light if you need. Can help to reduce light leaks if you have any!

Thanks for your response heartlessphil

Heres a quick test using method 1

All my boxes are flush against each other so i dont see how light should pass.