Setting up a Camera for a Topdown-Moba-Game

Hello,

after hours of research and lots of experiments I thought it might be the next step to ask for some help. First of all I have to admit that I’m new to Unreal Engine 4. I come from a designing background and lack in programming skills (XP: some java, some js, webprogramming [angular, ionic, typescript, css] on a average skill level). The Blueprints visual scripting is something that convinced me to try out new things.

What do I want to do?
I set small goals and try not to think too big. I want to create a small topdown game where you are able to move around a map. Sounds pretty easy, pretty straight forward. I got some problems trying out to have a camera comparable to MOBA Games (Screen moves, when I the mouse touches the edge, Character moves on click) . My research lead me to RTS Cams and severeal different ways to aproach that topic. Without success really.

My idea to get it done:

1. I figured out that the springarm and the camera are a child to the character static mesh. They are connected - so wherever my character moves the camera moves.

2. I realized, that for my solution the character and my camera have to be two different actors. The character should be move when I mouseclick somewhere. The camera actor should move, when I come close to the edge of the screen. I kind of figured out how I can check the cursor position and a printed a string when I came close to the edge. My problem seems to be more basic. I could really figure out how to set it up.

3. Is my aproach correct or is there a easier and more efficient way? Do I need a new GameMode? Do I have to setup more / different Controller?