Setting up a blueprint for object interaction (I'm a noob any help is appreciated)

**Sorry fro my noobyness as i am new to blueprint and game development in genral.

I’m not sure how particular my problem is as I don’t know much and I could be asking a very broad question.

I want to make a blueprint that basically set off a timer when the cursor cross hairs are over an object and if player is close enough to object that timer will start and when it runs out the player automatically interacts with the object.
Basically what im trying to do is eliminate those pesky button promts and heaving to press a button to interact with an intractable object. For example: Instead of a player walking up to the watermelon object and press a button to pick it up, if the player is close enough to the watermelon and is pointing the crosshairs at it it will atomically pick it up after lets say a 2 second timer.
Is this possible to achieve with blueprints?
Again I’m sorry but I’m very new and this question may be stupid without me realizing but I would be very grateful for any kind of help or explanation as to how this works and could be made or just general expending of my knowledge of how blueprints work.**

Im a noob too but ill give this a shot.

yes you can do that with blueprints. I have bin watching the tutorial videos that are linked from this sight and have learned a lot from them. “Blueprints - 1 - Blueprint Intro” is a good place to start. It will show you the basics.

yeah same iv been reading,watching researching and studying all about UDK for the past few weeks but with this one i could just not make heads or tails of it.

Check out the Solaris example videos for a demonstration of using a trace to figure out which object is under the player’s crosshairs.