Set text values with public variables

I’m attempting to make a map players can move around, with pins they can click on to show the information of npcs that live at that location. I’m fairly new to blueprint scripting, so there may be a better approach. This is just what I have pieced together with various tutorials.

I have created a blueprint with several public variables that I use to set the values of a struct table. That table is used to set the text value of a widget by casting to this blueprint to fetch the value of the variables.

The idea is that I would be able to have multiples of these pins on the in the viewport and set the text of each individual, while reusing the same blueprint, so that I don’t have to create a new blueprint for each npc. To some extent, this works, and I can set the text through the editor/outliner, but the issue is that it sets the same text for every instance of this blueprint. Generally, the editor uses the text from whatever instance I set most recently to populate all of them.

344652-help2.png

344653-help3.png

Is there a better way to approach this, or something I’m missing so that each instance of the blueprint uses it’s own information?

• functions bound to text blocks (2nd pic) execute every frame, if you mouse over the Get All node, it will tell you not to use it every frame as it’s a slow operation
  • Get All does not guarantee element order, you actually do not know which element you’re getting
  • even if you knew which index is which actor, you’re Getting element 0, getting text of that actor and setting it to all actors text. All actors end up with text from actor 0 (and we don’t even know which is 0 - this will seem random)

Just to clarify, it’s like this right:

• actor
  • widget component

Each actor has a bunch of variables that you set and you need each actor’s widget to show them. Could you confirm?

Here’s something that I tried to fit into the existing bits you’ve learnt.