Download

Set my expectations straight....

Hi, I am fairly new to game development and Unreal Engine. I have some but not very deep C and C++ programming experience but I wouldn’t call myself anything more than a slightly advanced beginner. My motivation is mainly the love for video games, my interest in the technology, and it would be a nice skill to have to give on to my son some day (my Dad and I built model planes, maybe my son and I someday can make small video games together). Seems like a fun father-son project…

I started learning Unreal Engine about 6 weeks ago and work mostly with two books, the Unreal Engine documentation, and some YouTube tutorials. I feel that I pick up stuff and knowledge fairly quick and I’m impressed bywhat I can already do. So far I don’t make any self-made custom assets or characters, but use free assets for now. Later on I plan to dig deeper into creating assets. For know, I am focusing on game design, character design (not the model, but the character mechanics, fighting, inventory, etc.), opponent AI, skill tree, Health, Stamina, damage system. And its going good so far.

Now I want to start creating my world/level. I decided to make a small simple single player RPG game with just a few characters, simple fighting/spell system, small world (with maybe a small village with a few huts, a forest area, some open grass land area, maybe a creek or small stream, a cave) filled with a few small quests that can be done by the player in less than one hour. I’m not creating this for any commercial success or so, its really a learning/hobby project with a game genre I like which will extra motivate me.

Here are my questions: