Set Morp Target not working with for Each Loop and a Random Delay

I want to add a random blinking to all my actors within a for-each loop with setting a morph target animation and a random delay between each blink. The problem I have is that the animation only is applied to the first actor in the loop, instead of all of them. Any idea what is wrong with this blueprint?

The issue is that it’s only one timer and only one timeline, and calling them multiple times doesn’t start multiple timers or timelines.
I suggest making your skeletal meshes into blueprints, and handling blinking independently for each of them inside their own blueprints.

2 Likes

I think I understand what you are saying here, but forgive me to ask how to do this in a way I that I can easily create one single blueprint that then applies to all the actors. I am new to unreal engine, so any steps on how to do this would be helpful.

So my understanding of your reply is:

1. Take one actor (Skeletal Mesh) from content library, right click and click Create Animation Blueprint???
  2. In that blueprint, create a single blinking animation with a random delay.
  3. Open another actor and assign the new blueprint (from step 2) to it. (How do I assign it??).

Some additional notes: I’ve imported all my actors from Daz3d, and they all use the Genesis8 base skeleton. (Not sure if that helps, or even provides a way to set the blinking animation to all of them at once). I actually tried to see if I can do it with genesis8 skeleton, but it appears that “Add new time-line” cannot be done in all blueprints. Also Set Morph Target is not always available so I had no Idea to where to put this code from my initial post. I just put it in BP_ThirdPersonCharacter as this was the only place I could find timelines and Morph Targets.

No, if you create separate blueprints for each skeletal mesh, it will be a mess and difficult to control.