Set GameMode variables independently for each level

Hey all, I have the following:

Main Level with a custom GameMode. Inside the GM I have a few variables that define the level objectives. # of targets, ammo, playerpoints.
I have set these variables as “public and editable on each instance of this bp”.

When I load a new level, I would like to be able to use the same GM blueprint, but set these variables independently from the previous level.
So, for the new map, I set a different value for each of these variables. But this seems to change the original ones. As in there’s no instancing. It’s the same GM bp.

How do I actually instance these variables per level? Also, these variables don’t show up in the World Settings of the GM Section for each Level. Should they?

I have never done anything like this before, so any tips are greatly appreciated.

Level DB…
Create an actor… add the specific variables/values, drop in your level. Have the GM read those values.

Data Table…
Create a struct the defines your variables. Create a data table that uses that struct.
Row name can be level name. GM → get data table row name.

1 Like

WorldSettings is a different class. It is not exposed to blueprints, so you would have to expose some variables by creating a C++ class based on it and setting that as the default WorldSettingsClass in C++. In terms of things to do in C++, that’s on the easier end, so if you’re interested in doing things on that side it could be a good starting point. It’s also a sensible place to put such data into.

If you don’t want to do things in C++, you could use the Level Blueprint to set these variables inside the GameMode.

You could also use a DataTable asset or something which is basically a .csv file where you have put things like “levelname | number of targets | ammo | playerpoints” and then the gamemode reads the appropriate values based on the name.