Sequencer - Deep Rock Galactic - Character Presentations

Hi Everyone

My name is Ronnie, I work as an animator on the game Deep Rock Galactic.

During the marketing campaign of the game, I created 8 videos showcasing the 4 main player characters, and 4 of the monsters.

The videos are rendered using the Sequencer in Unreal Engine 4.

CLICK IMAGE FOR VIDEO

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/ftwdwX39YsI/maxresdefault.jpg](- YouTube)

Everything is set up in the sequencer, except for the pop-up text, those are added in Premiere Pro…

The scene consists of a custom cave environment. Since the game is procedurally generated, I couldn’t use any of the levels in the game, so I had to make my own little cave.

I dragged the character blueprints into the scene, so they showed up with armor and beard and everything. After that I just dragged in the animations onto the timeline,
in the order I want them to play.

Then I dragged the weapons in and attached them to the correct bone in the character, and hide/unhide at the times I wanted them to show.

The exact same goes for the particles. Dragged them into the scene, placed them and then just hide/unhide at the right times.

Some of the animations already had particles and sound attached to them, so on those I got it all for free.

After creating a camera with the wanted settings, field of view, depth of field, motion blur, ambient occlusion and bloom, then I basically just animated the camera as in any other program.

I did all the videos using only one camera in the scene, which was very risky, because it lost the connection to the scenes a few times. So I would recommend using more cameras for camera cuts,
instead of having one long animation on one camera. But it’s all part of the learning experience :slight_smile:

The lighting is a simple 3 point lighting system. Blue and orange lights on the sides for rim light. And a main light from the front, but not straight on.
Also a skylight to boost the overall ambience light of the scene.