Selecting a pawn to be a target (BP)

I’m making a turret fir a tower defense game, How do i get a reference to a pawn so as to put it inside a pawn variable?

this is the code so far:

][1]

what needs to go before the SET (in the bottom left) in order to get the turret to select a pawn inside the level?

images would be really helpful as I’m still new to UE4, Thanks!

if you right click your blueprint area, start typing ‘get all actors of class’ and use the pawn class (or your target class). this will output a list of pawns in the map. if this is single player game with only one pawn, drag out the pin with the array symbol, and type ‘get’ to grab the pawn at index zero. you will need to do this at ‘beginplay’ so it initializes when the game starts. from there you can reference that pawn. if you have more than one you need to detect, there are alternative strategies to accomplish this.

I’ve set it so that an array will be created on begin play which also sets the target variable to the pawn at index 0. but won’t the array need to be updated at some point? Whats the best way of handling this?

if you want to work with multiple object detection, there are better ways, and my first suggestion only partially works. here’s an example of a better approach: