Seeking Clarity on how Actor Reference Variables work

I’ve been using Unreal for about 2 years now and feel comfortable with it but one thing I still haven’t modeled in my head very well is how Actor Reference Variables work and can’t seem to find documentation that really outlines this. When communicating across blueprints I always use Castings and when I can’t (or don’t know how to) cast I use Get All Actors of Class. Using these two methods I get by but there are places where I am using Get All Actors of Class on the event tick and it would be perfect if I could store the actor bp I want in a variable and just pull it’s data from that.

My Question: How the hell is this done? I know how to do it in terms of static blueprints that just sit in the level (like trigger boxes and static objects in level). But what about for dynamic Blueprints that come in and out of the game (like player controlled pawns, guns, bombs, Cameras that come in under specific circumstances etc.)?

-Selecting the specific actor reference in the variable selection drop down doesn’t appear to have any effect (I get no data or accessed none).

-Setting the variable with an all actors of class on event begin play gives me no effect or accessed none

Do these variables have to be set in a specific place (like gamestate or something)?. Do you have to set these variables in specific ways (like interacting with the BP first in game)? Is using variables in this way just not a thing? I feel like im missing something trivial here, any clarity is appreciated.

Thanks

If you set variables using all actors of class on begin play you have to add a delay because otherwise the script runs before the actual actors are spawned. Running it on tick is very wasteful and it’s better if you replace it either with begin play with a delay (very small value) or DoOnce in the tick should work too.