Script behaves incorrectly when made into a function (+ another Q)

I finally got around to buying UE4 about a week ago and have been attempting to learn how to program through blueprint (I have no experience with code and would be hopeless with C++). I’ve been fiddling on and off with figuring out how to open and close a door (seemed like a good place to start). I’ve nearly completed most of the functionality I want (well, for now at least. I’ll explain further down) but I’ve ran into an interesting problem.

The method for opening the door I chose to go with is a line trace that allows the player to open the door upon pressing F so long as they are in range and looking at the door. The code I had worked just fine, however, I wanted to cleanup the graph and so I consolidated things within functions to save space. Everything worked fine except for the Check Usable Object function (the line trace). As far as I can tell there is no reason for the error I am getting, but I’m sure there is something I don’t know about that is going on. Anyway, to make things easier than my—usually incoherent—ramblings, I’ve screencapped the script (is it script or code or graph or something else?) in question.

Everything looks fine and dandy, but, as I said above, the Check Usable Object function is giving me problems. Here is a picture of the function.

(Note: I had actually added a Switch Has Authority node before the line trace, I just took the screencap before then)

The problem I am having is: once the line trace hits the door, no matter where I go, the door can be triggered to open and close despite the line trace no longer hitting the door. To make sure I didn’t just somehow script things wrong (even though I copied the original script directly into the function when I was consolidating things) I tried the same script but exposed in the event graph rather than in custom function.