Scale and Grid Snap Woes

I just started playing around with UE4 and I am importing a level and props that I have already modeled in max a couple years back, the problem is they are modeled in feet not meters (like prior unreal engines)
I was able to convert them (in the system unit setup, pre export) so they are correctly sized in the Engine but then the problem becomes snapping to the grid, nothing aligns properly. I’m assuming there is no way to change the grid to feet? so what would you guys recommend? manually scaling and sizing everything to the nearest cm? Any other options available?

Technically it doesn’t matter if you use feet, or centimeters or Max’s generic units, as long as your grid snaps are correct within Max. Depending on the units you use, things may come through at a different scale, but ultimately if your grid sizes were correct, you should get clean grid snaps, regardless.

So, since your original models were made for “prior Unreal engine”, the grid is actually different. In older engines the grid sizes were power of 2. Most likely your current content is created on this type of grid. With UE4 now Epic has changed this to be default, decimal grid sizes. They do however allow you to go to a power of 2 grid and you can set it in… Editor Preferences → Viewports → Grid Snapping.

i’m actually in the same boat with my project. I started in the UDK, doing everything on power of 2 and now in UE4, I can’t go re-size all of it, so I use the power of 2 grid size.