scalability

Hi there !

I have been experimenting with RC for 9 months now. I am processing on a ROG laptop with GTX 1070 and 64 GB RAM that is quite fast and (almost) portable. I am also using a lighter ROG with 980M and 32 GB RAM.
Now experimenting with high resolution images (42 MP and 50 MP), processing time (even with Reality Capture) tend to be much longer even for a limited number of images (around 1000-1500). And I guess that the memory is a little bit low (I hit the limit and had a hard RAM swap on a reconstruction, had to force reboot and start again).

What computer can I get to improve the speed of processings ? SLI of 1080TI ? 128 GO RAM or even much (256 GO ?)
I guess that the limit is set by the license : 3 GPUs and 32 CPU cores.

Do you have any examples of configs for sale in the real world ?

Of course, cluster processing would be great, but it seems to be not ready yet : Cloud computing support (distributed rendering)?

Thanks for any experience or advice.

Hi Jonathan_Tanant

First take a look on hw + sw specification here OS and hardware requirements

So RAM is mostly limiting on ALIGNMENT step, but not so much on other processing steps. RAM is in most cases is used only as CACHE, to speedup the process, not so much as requirement.

What computer can I get to improve the speed of processings ? SLI of 1080TI ? 128 GO RAM or even much (256 GO ?)

For recommendation, please click on MODEL in 1Ds view, so we can see processing times ( DEPTH MAPS, MESHING, Tx and etc ) on particular steps.

Hehe, “a little bit low” is quite subjective! :slight_smile:
I would also like to know what you are looking at exactly.
Have you tried the same set with other SW?

Thanks for the advices and the link.

So if I understand well, memory is only an issue on alignment, it shouldn’t be on reconstruction and texturing ?
Then GPU is at the work during reconstruction.