Run Java(Android) code from C++ using JNI

Hey guys,

I’m new to C++ programming but I can do Java and Android pretty decently. I know the bare basics of CPP to get myself by with making my game.

I stick with blueprints but only use cpp where it is required.

I’ve been using and learning from UE4 for some time now and trying to make my first game for android but blueprints lack some android functionalities that I would like to add in my game like -

Orientation control.

Sending intents

Accessing native android content providers.

So, I was looking through forums and answerhub to see useful stuff. I learnt about AndroidJNI but am very unclear on how to use it.

Some questions if someone could answer them -

1. Do I need UE4 Launcher or UE4 Source to make custom Java (Android) functions to be called from C++?

2. Do I need to modify or add my Java code in GameActivity.java file in my Project folder or the Engine folder?

3. How to use the custom AndroidJNI function via blueprints?

Please I would be really grateful if someone can provide a step by step guide for implementing this because I have not fiddled with Engine files.

By looking at the forums and answerhub it seems a pretty common thing.

Any simple example like making an android Toast BP Function that says “Hello World”. or makes a Toast with a String input provided.

It would be really amazing thank you.

If I can get it done I would be sure to make a new forum post to help someone who is still a novice with making their games on android. :smiley:

I was able to do it!. With the help of a plugin by GameDNA studio. Lots of thanks to them.

Hey, could you post any info or link about that? I´m interested into making an interface to call Android GPS api.

PD: About orientation control, UE4 already comes with BP solutions to that, the node its called somethink like “input motion” and it return gravity, tilt, accel and rot rate.

Thanks!

Using the code