Rotating Skybox

Hi,

I’m new to Unreal and ran into my first problem. I just can’t seem to find an answer to this online.

I need my Skybox to slowly rotate on an axis. I have tried to apply a couple of different conventional methods such as using a Rotating Movement or Event Tick to rotate the static mesh using Construction Scripts and/or Event Graphs, however, the underlying problem is that the Skybox material does not want to rotate with the static mesh.

Any thoughts?

This is not a good idea for the default skybox.

Create your own local files, modify them as needed.

You can check if the material is immune to rotation by changing the Z axis rotation in editor.

I don’t seem to recall this being the case, but it’s been a while since I last touched it.

Either way, if you are rotating the sky to rotate the clouds, that’s not a good idea.

Rotating a whole mesh is arguably a bad idea in all cases.

Take as an example a realistic star map.
You need to rotate it so that the longitude and latitude can be taken into account.
At the same time - because it is easier to do - the star material needs to keep on panning at a constant pre-set speed.
If instead you rotate the mesh, then you have to work to figure out the longitude and latitude inclinations - and could possibly get the stars to spin awkwardly.
The panning material instead will just keep on rotating the correct way endlessly… making it a bit easier.

If you explain what you are trying to do a little more in depth, i’m sure several people on here can give you proper directions.

If you are curious on other setups you should check out the Souls project btw. I think they still have a downloadable version or at least blog entries on how they got Unreal to behave.

Thanks!