Room walls collisions

Hi guys,
I’m very new with Unreal, and I only began to study Unity a month ago. There, I used planes for collisions, so objects without thickness. In Unreal I’m trying to export a wall with windows and an object UCX_WindowWall to represent the collision object but Unreal always wraps it for me. This object is actually 3 walls connected in wide angle, so I guess it’s concave. Like half of a hexagon.

I also tried creating 3 boxes instead of planes, but then unreal wrapped those too when they were imported.

In I usually have walls of a house as one object, not every wall a single box, so I’ll import the walls as one object, and I will need collisions on all those sides, not wrapped as a single object. Make any sense?

I know there’s a simple solution but I can’t find it.

Hi, open the mesh editor, in the top you should find collision drop down menu. Select auto convex collision and set hulls and hulls verts to and apply.

If that doesn’t fix your problem simply remove the collision of the mesh and instead place blocking volumes at the position of the walls.

The first method creates a really ugly solution - like in the screen capture. I made nice 3 flat surfaces for this object, so there is no way to use them?
Is there a way to recall that UCX object? After I did auto convex it replaced it and now I don’t know where it is…I know I can reimport but I want to learn all the options.

I tried this again like some guy in a tutorial did it. I created three boxes and attached them, so it’s not one concave object. When I import, Unreal closes them for me.
Any ideas? The guy in the tutorial also merged all his boxes, and when he imported he had them all.

Take a look at this video and choose one way: :slight_smile:

For your upper problem -> make sure to disable “use one convex hull…” + “auto generate collision” in your import settings