Rolling coin Physics

Hi,

I’m quite new to Unreal engine and 3D game dev in general, so please forgive me if I say something stupid :smiley:

I’m trying to create a game and part of the physics for the game is to have a coin roll along a surface realistically.

I am struggling to work out how to setup the physics for a rolling coin.

I have tried multiple variations of properties, tolerances, stabilisations etc. but cannot get it to act like a coin.

The coin either falls over instantly, rolls with too much friction, doesn’t turn (stays a perfect straight line), spins on the spot, wobbles like a clown on a unicycle etc.

Do you have any tips, guides etc. for simulation a rolling coin realistically?

Thanks in advance.

Matthew

I may not have this in the correct forum topic, can a Mod please move this to the right place if not :slight_smile: Thanks

How realistic are we talking? While the default behaviour surely leaves room for improvement, it seems to have a reasonable idea of what a flat physics-driven disc is:

Image from Gyazo

I’d definitely start with crafting meticulous collision with bevelled edges. Then enable CCD and up the solvers:

That looks a million times better than what I had.

Looking at your settings, it looks like it is the solvers where I was going wrong. It was the only property I didn’t mess with.

I will use your settings as a guildline and I should be able to get a good start on it.

Thank you so much for you help, and for answering so fast too

Thank you so much for your help, it has really helped me get started with this :slight_smile:

I did reply before but my comment didn’t seem to appear.

I used the info you have given and I have managed to get the coin to roll in a more realistic fashion (I don’t need hyper realistic, just a good simulation).