Rolling ball jumps on flat surface

Hello everyone :slight_smile: ,

I’m a beginner with the Unreal Engine 4, so I wanted to create a very simple platform game where the player controls a ball,

But I have a problem, sometimes the ball jumps even on a flat surface :

https://www…com/watch?v=rzyNTmDpJaw

For the collisions I use a box simplified collision :

And this is how the collision looks like on the map, as we can se there’s no “space” between the boxes :

4b28366b09fcb5a9c8ae02d17c551824cff86cb4.jpeg

Can someone explain to me why the ball is jumping and how I can fix it?

Thanks for your time!

(Sorry for my English, I’m French).

What’s the ball collision set to? it seems like it’s hitting facets somewhere
And you’ve made sure all of your boxes are exactly the same Z height correct? I see the Z is set to 569.9999939 on the selected one, if they’re off even by a little you can get a pop pretty easily

Thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

The ball uses a “Sphere simplified collision”, I also enabled “CCD collision” :

I changed the Z to 0 for all my boxes, but it doesn’t change anything, the ball is still jumping.

I’m thinking that it is still seeing the edge of the boxes as being the problem, it might be a good thing to try and make a single collision box that encompasses everything in a row, and see if it still bounces. maybe stretch one box to be the whole length and see if the ball still bounces, that should tell you whether it’s the spherical collision or the boxes

Sorry for the double-post, but I wanted to add something.

I don’t know if it may help you, but this time I tried something different.

I deleted all the blocks and I created a landscape using the “Landscape” tool, I didn’t change anything on the landscape:

https://www…com/watch?v=-CzgQMRA5Ns

As we can see the ball is still jumping, so the problem is maybe the ball, here are the details of the ball:

As I said on the previous comment, the ball uses a “Sphere Simplified Collision”.