Roads for large worlds (using World Composition)

Hello! I am still very new to UE4 and the forums, so I’m not sure if I’m asking this question in the correct topic. If I should be posting this question in another topic, please educate me!

I’m a university student (Computer Science and Engineering Student) and I’m researching about how to simulate realistic terrains using a game engine and** GIS data**.

Now about the problem I’m facing:

TLDR: trying to dynamically loads roads, similar to how World Composition deals with tiled landscapes. Not sure how to do that: landscape splines? level streaming? extending the engine?

Since I’m creating a world based off on GIS data, the terrain itself is already done (with heightmaps + tiled landscape option from World Composition + distance streaming). I’m working with a terrain that is 5km x 5km so I could explore the different possibilities the engine gives me without being too ambitious.

The goal is to work with even bigger terrains (how this will be done, is for future research and not what I’m currently worried about).

Right now, I’m having trouble with creating roads. I am able to read Shapefiles with C++ code and I started experimenting with Spline Components first: a Blueprint that reads the information and creates different Spline Components for every road.

The problem with this is that it’s done in the Construction Script and since the goal is to apply this project to bigger terrains, doing everything in a Construction Script isn’t ideal. The point of using dynamic loading with distance streaming is to get a better performance and using the Construction Script to build such big roads seems… counterproductive.

I’ve been spending the last few days looking at the engine source code, trying to understand how the engine deals with distance streaming but not really getting anywhere.
The general idea I have is that maybe I will need to spawn different Blueprints (that will correspond to different roads).