RInterp to doesnt work (SOLVED)

Hello, I’m new to Unreal Engine. I have been tinkering with blueprints and try to see what I can do, however I have a problem. My goal is to open a door using RInterp to give it a little door-opening animation. I couldn’t get it to work, the door just changes the rotation from one position to another. Here’s a screen shot of my blueprint. Hope I can get some help from the community, thanks!

Take a look at this tutorial.

You need to put a constant pulse into the rotation for the RInterp to continue to move. You will probably also need to replace the ‘time take to rotate’ with ‘get world delta seconds’. With that changed the current setup would increase the rotation based on what you have as the interp speed but only a fraction of it.

If you put a loop that goes through the rotation until the door reaches the open rotation and then cancel. That would make it work. Here is that setup.

You could also use timelines as per 's response but I find the interp way less hassle.

Here are some possible solutions for you.

1. Method - If you insist on using RInterp To, then here’s one:

This is how it looks in the viewport. The components are:

DoorMesh (StaticMesh type): The door mesh that will be rotating. I used SM_Door (starter content I think).

DoorFrame (StaticMesh type): This is just for reference. Not really needed.

Trigger (Sphere collision type): Overlapping this volume will play rotation animation.

Copy the setup you see in the images.

Here’s what happens:

Use define a Timeline that can be used as Delta Time for RInterp. I used a simple float curve with linear interpolation with 2 keys: 1( Time: 0, Value: 0), 2( Time: 2, Value: 1)

This will play a fairly smooth animation. but you may have to play with the values to get the desired effect.

(Note that the 2 Timelines are the same, just duplicated)