Rhino to UE4 via Datasmith - displacement map driven tessellation not working

Full disclaimer, I’m brand new to UE4 so maybe the answer to this question should be obvious.

As an architecture student, my 3D workflow has only involved Rhino. So far importing from Rhino to UE4 via Datasmith is smooth and easy, making it simple to turn my projects into a more interactive experience.

However, I can’t get texture tessellation to work. I am using Megascans materials, imported directly from Quixel Bridge, and they come preset with tessellation parameters and displacement maps. Enabling tessellation and applying the materials to a BSP works fine. I can parametrically control them no problem. The problem arises when I try to apply those same materials to meshes imported from Rhino. The mesh shows only the default grey grid texture even after rebuilding the lighting. Interestingly enough, the tessellation works fine in the static mesh editor, just not in the scene itself. The material editor also does not give me any errors. Turning off tessellation applies the material and all its other properties correctly. The meshes in question are simple planes (walls) showing as static mesh actors in UE4. In Rhino, they are NURB surfaces. I did not do any conversion beforehand, Datasmith covered that.