Retargeting Animation Issue

Hi,

I’m new to UE4 and have been learning the basic. But here an issue that is driving me crazy that I haven’t found an easy work around. My work around consists of exporting character animations from UE4 to 3DXchange to retarget to my model and re-importing back into UE4. Life would be much easier if I could stay within Unreal. An image from my retargeting efforts is below, not very good, unless I was trying to make a horror game. Anyhow, if anyone would like to challenge themselves and try to get this to work I would be extremely grateful. If you have any hints, tips or tricks. Message me… thanks

Model Download Link:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16850670/Tattoo%20Male.zip

try these

I was able to get it a little closer, but still having issues. I’m not very experienced in UE4, so not sure of any tricks. The Model that I am using has many parts. For example: L_Upperarm, L_Upperarm_twist01, L_Upperarm_twist02. Does this become an issue with weights on the mesh? Is that what I am seeing?

the basic answer is either use the “Epic” rig with the “Epic” anims
or
use your own rig with your own anims

you’ll never get a good result with re-targeting

the main issue you have is that your character is in the T-Pose , in your 3d programm try and set the character to the same pose as the epic character that will help some, i’ve never bothered trying to re-target the twist bones.