Respawning/Restart Game Mechanic

Hello,

I am new to UE4, and I am trying to make a simple endless runner game. I have basic mechanics like save game/score, best score, etc.

However, I’m having trouble with the respawn mechanic. When the player hits a wall and dies, I want them to be able to press space bar, and have the game reset to the beginning, but keep their best score in tact. Can someone tell me how to do this? Been stuck for a few days, and I can’t figure out how. This is what I would think should work, but it’s not. Not sure what I’m doing wrong?

Try to save your variables in gamemode or game instance instead of putting your variables in character BP since once the character destroy all the variables will get reset .

Hello I’m new to UE4 too and creating a similar thing. Today I watched few tutorials on how to save stuff to save my coin number inside my game. Not sure if this will work for you but I’m sure you can learn something from it. Here are the two tutorials I followed and combined in a way to get them to work for me.

Save/Load Menu Settings - Unreal Engine 4 Tutorial - YouTube by CodeViper

Save/Load Game System Intro - #66 Unreal Engine 4 Beginner Tutorial Series - YouTube by Virtus Learning Hub / Creative Tutorials

So far I don’t have any reset button it will keep loading the last coin count on begin play and when I hit my save key (F3) it will save my current coin count. However I believe it could be easily set up to update on item pickup or every now and then via simple function.

Here is my set up (it’s a mix of the two tutorials so don’t worry about my naming concept, as I said I’m new :D)

1. Start by creating a new blueprint and chooses Save Game as type. Name it whatever you want in my case it’s SaveGameTutorial.
1.png