Download

[REQUEST] Fully flexible RTS camera

On Unity3D there is a RTS Pro camera asset which you can control in many ways. Can someone make a camera like this for UE4? Heres the camera:

Hi there, I’m pretty new myself and one of my first learning projects is a RTS. I have pretty much replicated most most of this Cameras functions.

If you’re interested in doing it yourself, this is how I did it.

DISCLAIMER:
As said I’m still a beginner and so my Blueprints probably will contain bad implentations or un-performant solutions that maybe can and probably will lead to errors, so I’m kinda posting this in the hope to get some feedback on optimisations aswell :stuck_out_tongue:

Lets begin with the Setup:

As Root I use a Sphere, which is set to Visible for Control purposes.
Attached to this Sphere is a Spring Arm which is angled,
and attached to that Spring Arm is my Camera.

First lets go through moving the Camera in the 4 directions. For that I defined 2 axis’ mapped to WS and AD (for test purposes, later on it’ll probably be the Arrow Keys)

The upper axis is for moving the Camera Forward and Backward. Im using the “Add Actor Local Transform”-function for that. The Axis Value is either +1 or -1 multiplied by a number depending on desired movement speed.
The value is now fed into a vector as the x-component, which then is fed into the transform of the function.

Now I’ve repeated the same for moving Left and Right. This time feeding the Axis Value into the y-component of the vector

That’s all that’s needed for controlling the Camera via Keyboard.

Notice how the Trigger Pins of the two functions Continue? I gonna use them later on.

62a4baa332fc1e2b7a4479a14792ec21601e9482.png

Now lets go for Rotating the Camera via Keyboard

Again I defined an axis for the Rotation mapped to Q and E

Im Using “Add Actor World Rotation”. As Rotation values I take the Axis value, multiply it so it moves a little bit faster, and create a Rotation. The value goes into the Yaw Pin.