[REQUEST] Finding the Edge of the Surface the Player Is Standing On

Hello! This is my first post on the Unreal Engine forums, so please tell me if I’m doing something wrong :slight_smile:

I want to make a system that determines the player’s distance in real time (in the direction they’re facing) from the edge of the surface they’re currently standing on, as well as the distance of the gap between that surface and the next surface in front of them.

Here’s a picture to demonstrate:

DynamicEdgeDetection.jpg

Essentially, I want to find d1 and d2 as they appear in this diagram relative to the yaw direction the player is facing. I would like to have the values of d1 and d2 update each tick (or as necessary to make them change as the player, camera, and/or world moves).

I’m very new to using Blueprints in Unreal Engine and rather unfamiliar with the language’s documentation and general workflow, so I don’t know how easy or hard this would be to implement. If it would be unfeasible to implement, then I could probably experiment with a different system that accomplishes a similar goal.

If anyone would be willing to provide some code that accomplishes this, or at least some nodes I could try fiddling with, or even to tell me it’s impractical, that would be much appreciated.

Thank you, and have a nice day!

I have to tell you that looks like a bit of a nightmare. Especially with the amount of surfaces you have to trace in a real game situation. Can I ask what you want to achieve?

Sure thing. It’s for an end-of-year school project where I want to try making an accessibility system that allows someone to play a simple platformer game without visuals; basically a game that could be played by a blind person.