Replace string in Datatable with variable created in widget?

You can’t write to a Data Table in BPs. You’d generally use a save game object to store persistent data.

• load the data from a data table into a struct in the character bluerprint
  • you’re free to modify that struct
  • when you’re ready to save, push that struct into a save game object
  • save the object to disk

when loading:

• load the save game object from disk
  • read the struct and set it as player’s data

Hello,

Currently, I am working to set a players name which eventually interacts with a script that I have set through a data table.

I am rather new to Unreal, but I do understand many forms of coding, so the idea itself would work something along these lines.

Widget opens > player inputs text through textbox > textbox saves data > data is sent to a variable > that variable replaces the specific name in the data table

The only issue I have at the moment is I am not quite sure how unreal handles something like this, what constitutes a variable outside of blueprints and the like.

My structure would currenty look like this

Datatable:

Row / Character / SpokenWord

1 PlayerName “blah blah”

Finally, my end goal is to replace the playername string in my character category with my PlayerName variable which I have made public in my specified blueprint.

Is this something that I can pull off, or is there another way I would need to go about it?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can offer.

Widget opens > player inputs text
through textbox > textbox saves data >
data is sent to a variable > that
variable replaces the specific name in
the data table

If it’s just for interaction, why not have the script read the player’s current name? You can handle text input like so:

This data persists until you destroy the widget, load a new map, you quit / your game crashes.