Hi, I can see there is some threads about this issue, but can’t find any with a solution (some of them has almost 1 year since they where created).
My workflow is the following: the model is created on 3DS Max 2016 (also tested it on 2015 version). Exported as FBX 2014. Imported it in UE 4.8 with the “combine mesh” tick off. That brings several meshes to my content window. If I click “Reimport” on any of those objects it will be replaced with a copy of the entire FBX mesh combined.
This is a big pain, the only option it left you is to delete all the meshes and import them again, losing all the work you did inside UE.
I hope you guys have some time to take a look at this.