Refactor by moving BP components to C++

Hello

I have a BP Actor-derived class (BP_MyActor)

It contains several BP components that define various behaviors.

For performance reasons (compute-heavy code), it is now time to move some of these components to C++. Let’s call such a component BP_MyComp.

However, since BP_MyComp is rather big, I do not want to delete it right away but I want, for some time, to be able to switch between the BP implementation and the in-progress C++ implementation.

Being a C++ programmer, my first thought was :

1. let’s create an interface IMyComp where I declare the BP_MyComp public functions.
    1. Make BP_Comp implement IMyComp and reconnect the implemented interface events to their proper implementation (UE unfortunately does not “understand” this refactoring and tells me the existing function clash with the new interface ones… I have to rename the old functions and move their BP graph into the new interface event implementation graph)

This works OK. I can see my C++ defined interface and implement it.

Then, I wanted to remove the BP_MyComp statically defined component from BP_MyActor (the one that was added with the big green “+ Add Component” button in the actor BP editor) and turn the component into a variable.

The idea was to have a variable of type IMyComp and, at runtime, decide (on a flag or some .ini
setting) whether to instantiate the BP_MyComp or a new Cpp_MyComp, then assign the result to the IMyComp variable, then eventually dynamically add it by calling AddComponent on the actor.

It does not work.

It is simply not possible to declare a BP variable with an interface type. It works for BP interfaces, but not C++ interfaces. Unless I have missed a specific macro keyword.

How would you guys approach such a refactoring where BP code is gradually moved to C++ with A/B testing?

A base class maybe? Am I allowed to reparent BP_MyComp to a pure C++ base class and use it as the type of a property ?