Redesigning UE4 Netcode, cost estimation

Hi

Could somebody help me estimate the cost of preparing Netcode? Roghly.

Assumptions:
-UE4
-gameplay already created in blueprints
-gameplay works already in multiplayer tests
-6 player and a ball between them

Netcode should work differently than in UE4 currently is. So it seems it’s about changing it.
Here how it should work.
Every player shold have equal delay 150 ms (round trip time). For player with lower ping server should increase response time up to this limit.
For players with higher ping server should not allow them to play.
No prediction or lag compensation.

I’m total noob if we speak about this topic but I need some price/workload range.

Thank you in advance!

Multiplayer networking is a mess, independent of game engine used, you will never be able to dictate people’s latency.
Still, for something like that would integrate a Photon layer instead of messing with engine code; which basically means rebuild the multiplayer piece of the game from scratch.
Otherwise use Pawn class instead of Character then create your custom networked movement component for your pawns…

BrUnO XaVIeR

So, shortly speaking, it is possible to handle something what i described totally outside UE4?

No. I’ve never seen a game where everybody have the same latency, ever.
Not even the authoritative P2P old RTS games like Age of Empires where all clients are always waiting for everyone to sync to the last game world snapshot.

Yeah… what’s being described sounds like a lockstep system.

Unfortunately Lockstep is great for massive amounts of objects (when combined with determinism) - but sucks for real-time, especially anything first-person. Since Unreal isn’t deterministic anyway, you’re only creating problems for yourself IMO. Players can start to detect latency quite easily when it’s more than 30-50ms, so forcing everyone into a 150ms game sounds like shooting yourself in the foot.