Recreation of the Second Life Camera System

Hello,

in the past weeks, I was trying to recreate a camera system which is part of the old 3D Chat application called Second Life.

The reason for recreation is the idea to have it inside of a game project I am working on at the moment and having a very stable system for navigating in any other UE4 application.

**Within the attempt of recreating it, I am running into several walls that at most times seems to be either related to the camera spring arm functions or maybe the way I am trying to build this system. I am a Senior 3D Artist with let’s say very basic Blueprint understanding. If I watch tutorials or read documentations, I am able to understand several functions and also be able to determine if certain ways might be suitable for what I try to achieve. The issues I have here might be related to missing knowledge, while on the other side I was being able to test different approaches but none of them really worked out by the end of the day.

I asked friends, I went to Unreal Slackers and got some help and kinda crawled through dozens of forum threads, tutorials, and videos for functions that could help on building up this system but at the moment my brain is burned out and I am completely out of ideas. I think I need to rebuild my system - but I would need some help from the community.

If I might be able to make this work, I would really love to put this little gem for free here and/or the marketplace itself because I think it might be a very nice addition for both game-devs and also people with relationships on architecture and automotive-related topics.**

Here is a video reference on what the Camera system is all about:** Second Life Free Camera System - YouTube**
-----

Starting position:

• You have your current third person character camera which is working like any other third-person camera by using the spring arm for camera boom and rotation things.