Realistic Textures

Hey guys!

I’m not an artist. I have never had the patience for it. However, my game is in need of art. Therefore, I must learn.

My question is… how does one achieve realistic textures? I am not asking how to do normal, specular, etc maps - I am wondering specifically about the diffuse texture.

My game is inside and outside of the Titanic. How would I get images of all the textures I need? Any ideas?

Thanks!

Either use a camera, or photos over the internet, or websites that offer textures, or software that create textures. That’s for the diffuse.

Edit: In case the diffuse is not tiled, you need to tile it as well. But I’m not gonna enter that as I assume you already know since you have been around.

The best way to create good textures and more importantly: (royalty) free textures, is to make them yourself.
Of course you could buy some textures from commercial sites, but they may come with a stiff price. If you want to maintain a high quality throughout the game, that quickly accumulates to a little fortune.
But since time is money and vice versa, you just have top invest some time.

Here are a few pointers how to get a decent diffuse texture:

Step 1: Look for a matching texture in the real world. If you need a wood texture, look around for a nice piece of wood, a wooden door,etc.

Step 2: Setup of the location: Since lighting and shading in our game is handled by theengine, we dont want any shades, highlights, etc in our raw texture. Unfortunately we cant simply toggle the real world to “unlit mode” to take our picture, so we have to deal with, already present, real world illumination of our object. The best dayto shoot textures is a bright but overcast day. To further improve the result, or on sunny days, you might want to build a little box, or tent in a bigger version, with thin white tarps (old bedsheets will do) to further diffuse the ambient lighting.