Random seed on EventBegin Play

Hey, i have a scene with a lot of randomly spawned meshes and materials. I would like to control the random seed with one master seed controller in between blueprints if it’s possible or have a setup for incremental versioning, for example- default seed value is 0, then every event begin play it adds +1 to the seed. How can i do this math? Here is my current setup for spawning random object with random position and rotation in range. Greets!

You can keep the seed in the game instance or the save game.

If this in level BP code, then game instance would make more sense I guess. Because you can load the level from there.

Meh, or save game with level BP would work…

Thanks for the answer! I’m afraid i didn’t understand anything though lol. I’m a beginner, could You explain it in more detail please? Greets. :slight_smile:

right click in the content browser > Blueprint > Blueprint Class

search there for “GameInstance”

Create it and rename it.

Go to the Project Preferences > Maps and Modes > set your newly created Game Instance there.

now you open your GameInstance. it works like every Blueprint is working… So you can create Variables here.

The Difference to a normal Blueprint is the Fact, that a GameInstance is persistent during the whole Game. It is loaded on Game Startup, and Destroyed on Game Quitting. Inbetween, everything stays alive.
So, if you save a Seed here, it will stay there until you close the Game.

To get/set variables of your GameInstance from a Blueprint, go that way:

In your Blueprint (Character, Environment, NPC… etc) right click in the Graph and search for the Node “Get GameInstance” and place it.

from this Node, drag a Wire and type in “Cast to XXXX”, where XXXX should be the Name of your newly created GameInstance.

from the Cast node, you can get/set Variables of the GameInstance and call functions and events inside the Instance.

For more Infos, try to search for some Tutorials on YouTube.

Two Examples: