RAM spiking when launching game

Hello everyone. After nearly a year of developing on Unreal Engine 5 as a complete self-taught, I managed to create a visual novel. Having no knowledge of coding in general, the blueprint system was perfect for me. Everything is going more or less well until I compile my game. It works, but it uses nearly 8GB of RAM at launch! (It’s a visual novel on Unreal Engine!!). Right after launch, it gradually goes down to around 0.5GB used, which is quite acceptable.

The problem with this is that a PC that is not state-of-the-art won’t be able to load my game, causing critical errors.

I had consulted someone who assured me that the problem was due to a plugin I had purchased to help with coding. So, I rebuilt my entire game without this plugin (which managed the dialogues… so I basically remade the entire game). Initially, when there was little content, everything was fine (0.5-0.6GB at launch). I even tested it with all the game’s resources (images and videos, about 2GB in total), and it worked perfectly.

But as I gradually connected the scenes and dialogues, the game suddenly started to spike RAM usage at launch (8GB…). Disconnecting the scenes in the game allows me to reduce this figure.

It seems obvious that I’m doing something wrong with my code, but how can I ensure that the game doesn’t “load” the entire game at startup (which is what it seems to be doing, right)?

Hi! It’s great to hear you managed to create a project just by yourself, that’s impressive! Now, let me state some points here. Maybe I won’t be able to show you anything new, especially if you already consulted someone knowledgeable, but here are my thoughts on this. I think you already know that games or any other app in general uses significantly more RAM at start and this is completely normal. However spiking up to 8 when it was supposed to be 0.5 is definetly an unusual behavior. This might be because: