Racing Game - Laps double after all checkpoints cleared, instead of increasing by 1

Hi All - let me preface with that I am a novice in blueprints.

I have been following the Unreal Time Attack race car checkpoint system tutorials from about 6 years ago, and everything seems to work except that my laps increase by 2 instead of 1 each time I complete a lap. (ie. if its a 7 lap race…it goes from lap 1, to lap 3, to lap 5, to lap 7) and I have no idea why.

I’ve attached a few blueprints from the Tracker and PlayerController where I think the problem may lie, but I’m stumped and any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

One of the pics is a little fuzzy and I can’t see anything crying out to be fixed there, except…

You have nested for loops on the checkpoints, which is probably not what you want:

Sorry for the fuzziness, here is a clearer image (hopefully).
And yes, I noticed in the comments section about this double loop. Someone wrote (but unfortunatly, I don’t fully understand)
Fixes ForEachLoop:

• 1st ForEachLoop [Completed Pin] <—> SET Total Checkpoints
  • 2nd ForEachLoop [Completed Pin] <—> Play Level Music

Any thoughts on how to fix? And thank you for trying to help me out.

If you have 10 checkpoints, everything in that second loop will run 10 times per loop… 100 times by when the first loop is done.

Thanks, I believe I made that change, but unfortunately my laps still double. Thanks for your suggestion though.

My guess this is the actor you need to check:

I added a print text at the end (see photo) and noticed that when I passed through the last checkpoint, both a 3 and a 2 appeared - as if the UpdateLap event is being called twice?

Sorry, I think you still need to look at this piece of code, it makes no sense. You’re doing this:

Foreach checkpoint:
get checkpoint number from index ( fair enough )
set total number of checkpoints ( for every checkpoint?! )
activate checkpoint ( how does it know which one? )