Questions pertaining to starting an indie game company

I’m getting ready to start my own indie game company and have some questions I’m hoping someone can answer.

First, is it absolutely necessary to have a business plan? If so, how should it be written? I’ve been puzzling over this one for a while and don’t know if I need one because I’m just starting out.

Next, once my game is finished and released, what’s the best way of tracking how much I owe Epic for using their engine?

Lastly, I’m interested in eventually releasing a game on PlayStation. Once I get the paperwork with Sony out of the way, how do I get access to UE4’s ability to release my game for PlayStation? Do I need to reach out to Epic?

If I think of anything else I’ll be sure to add it to the list.

Yes, business is a big part of developing a commercial game–you need to figure out what type of company you need to create, how taxes will work, etc. There’s probably some guides about it you can search for
Depending on how your game is sold, you will get sales results, so it’ll be simple to calculate how much you owe–remember though, if you sell on Steam they take 30%, but Epic takes 5% of the starting amount, not the amount left over after Steam takes their cut.
For PS4, once you have support from Sony, then you can contact Epic licensing to get access to the PS4 version of UE4.

Hi all

hope you all have a great day

welcome JadetheHunter.

Dartviper107 is absolute right. you need a Business plan. I’ve been working on main for over a year. google Business plan. take what you like form different ones. (That’s what I did.)
You will find things you never would have thought about being important.
I’m going with an LLC in about 3 months

after that you need to write a GDD and a TDD (Game Design document and Technical Design Document)

a business plan is a most with the GDD and TDD if you plan on raise money or get investors.