[Questions] Noob C++ questions

Today i finally downloaded ShooterGame and i decided to try C++ :slight_smile:

Since this is my very first time messing with C++ the whole thing kinda confuses me, so i thought its better to ask here. :slight_smile:

1: In some of the .h files i see some symbols like “*” and “&”. What do they mean? Eg: class AActor* GetAttachmentRootActor() const;. See the “multiply/star” sign after AActor. Like that what does the “&” mean in this: const FTransform& NewRelativeTransform

2: In UnrealScript we had simulated function/event etc. How does that work now in C++? Is it just “void”?

3: What is the difference between “virtual void” and “void”?

4: Am not understanding the pipeline between .h and .cpp. I know they are header and source files but how do they work together? So far what i see is functions being implemented in .cpp and properties and some “voids” in .h file. What is .h used for? I really appreciate if someone could briefly explain this question.

5: I added the macro UFunction() on one of the void in .h file. I pressed Compile in Rocket and it showed Compile Complete in a green box. However i cant find this in Blueprint. What i had to do was exit Rocket and then select VS → Rebuild Solution. Now when i start Rocket the function shows up in Blueprint. Is this the intended workflow?

1. This should help you out: http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/pointers/

2. With C++, you now are declaring methods inside of classes. So you have to go into a header file to declare your functions, and then define your functions in the corresponding CPP file. So in ExampleAClass.h, you would declare it, and then in ExampleAClass.cpp, you would define it.

3. Virtual means that the function can be overridden in an inherited class. In unrealscript, unless you had “final”, you could do this automatically, but in C++ you specifically have to specifically tell the function that it can be overridden.