Questions for Working With C++

Sorry for the long post, but I have a lot of questions.

I just finished following a C++ tutorial series, 2019 Ultimate Unreal C++ Guide - Episode 1 - YouTube, and he said he was using something called Visual Assist. I looked it up and found two results. One of them, Visual Assist - a Visual Studio extension by Whole Tomato Software, is really expensive, but the other one, Visual Assist - Visual Studio Marketplace, looks free. I noticed he was getting code suggestions faster than me, and I was wondering if this was something I should get. Are the two the same or different?

Also, there is a option in the Visual Studio installer to have a “Game development with C++” thing installed. Is this necessary, and/or would it help with making a game? Is there anything else that is good for working with C++ in Unreal?

Also I’m new to C++ but have experince with C# so I as wondering about ., ->, and ::. I think that :: is used for accessing static values, and -> is for accessing instance values, but what about .?

Also, why does Unreal name all your classes A[Your Class Name], and why do you have to use a pointer for things like UStaticMeshComponent?

Thanks in advance for helping me with beginner questions.

1 Like

I don’t know about the Visual Studio stuff as I don’t use VS.

The . operator basically lets you access anything from an object (that’s not a pointer). You use it with structs like FVector. Example: MyVector.Size(), MyVector.X, or MyRotator.Yaw.

The -> operator is a simple way to access anything from the object a pointer is referencing. So, -> first dereferences the pointer, then gives access to the object.

These two snippets do the same thing:

MeshComponent->SetStaticMesh(MyMesh);
(*MeshComponent).SetStaticMesh(MyMesh);

The (*MeshComponent) part dereferences the pointer, so then you could use the . operator.

:: is for accessing something in a namespace. You’ll use it with static functions like with UGameplayStatics.