Question to: Damage type, Harvest Component

Hey there,

I am relatively new to this. I don’t quite understand everything about the terminology and architechture yet. So I might write things in a way that does sound wrong to someone who does.^^

What I want to do for a start is changing the amount and type of resources that can be harvested from dead dinos, bushes etc. by dinos, sickle and by using them etc…

I have a test mod set up with a “MyTrike” in it for now. I can summon it on the test map via console command. I added some foliage (Azalea01) on the map following the video of a guy named Brick Whut.

To get it out of the way first. When I added the foliage I had to add in the setting “Attached component class” “SeedHarvestComponent”. Does that mean that every bush on “The Island” has this component class attached to it and I can’t change that via a mod by adding a “MySeedHarvestComponent” class. I hope not^^

Now how I thought it would work is by copying “SeedHarvestComponents” to my mod folder,rename it and for example delete “Dmg_Type_Melee_Dino_Herbivore” from the “Harvest Damage Type Entries”. Then copy the foliage settings for the bush that I added in the test map, rename it and select my renamed “SeedHarvestComponent” under “Attached component class”. Needless to say my trike could still harvest them.

It works by just unticking “Melee Attack Harvet Usable Components” in my trike character bp but eventually I want to get to the point where I can make it so that e.g. a trike can harvest some resources but not others.

Some more things I was wondering:

In the game you can harvest everything from a corps with both tiers of picks, hatchets and spear/pike. In the “Harvest Damage Type Entries” it says only “DamageType_Melee_BasePick”. How does that work? Where is it controlled that e.g. metal harvests more that stone.