[Question] How do I prevent auto-deletion of projectiles spawned by level?

Updated Post:

After resolving my original problem, I wanted to pay it forward to the community with a little bite sized tutorial (really just a screenshot, with me answering any questions people have, if I can) on how to blueprint a “meteor shower” with projectiles into your level via a trigger (in this case the “/” key)!

I’ll probably update this OP with more things as I further develop this into a full event system, refine the scripting, add more variables in for randomization of the projectiles rotation/location/etc on spawn, once I learn more

If you have any questions feel free to ask, and if you have any advice to give, PLEASE DO. (I’m really new to UE4 still, but VERY hungry to be on the front lines so to speak, with the best of the best soon)

Screenshot of blueprint:

And video demonstration of it in use :wink:

Original Post:

Hi there,

I’ve successfully managed to blueprint in the starting mechanics for a “Projectile Emitter” in my level (using target points to spawn in a projectile), but here’s the problem I am experiencing currently:

All of the projectiles seem to get deleted at the same point in their life, before the explosion occurs on my projectile, despite any changes I make to their life span timers (meaning those awesome explosions I’m wanting to see shower down upon my level don’t have a chance to occur 95% of the time when they spawn in because I have them setup to explode on movement stopped).

It seems to be ignoring the delay of 40 seconds I added before destroying the actor in the script. I’ve also tried editing the projectile lifespan from 0 to anything else, and no dice.

I’m assuming just due to inexperience that I’m missing something silly, so any help would be appreciated!