Question - FPS Standart Arms + Animations...method?

I’m trying to learn some animation methods as I am primarily a programmer. What is the typical method of FPS Arm animation?

I have standart Arms. I have weapons. Do I combine the Arms + Weapon in my modeling software and then render them combined into an FBX animation? (Arms+Weapon = Weapon Model)…this method makes the most sense to me. All Arms+Weapon models are added to the FPSPlayer. Inactive models are disabled. Equipping X weapon enables the appropriate Model.

OR

Do you animate the Arms separately from the Weapons. Animate the weapons firing…and then Place them together in editor? I don’t see how this would work properly because there would be too many dependencies between animations involving frame syncing between two different animations (Gun firing + Arm recoiling)

Also, would state machine be used to handle the animations? (Mouse click = sets bIsFiring to true… bIsFiring sets to false on mouse release or on timer?)

The way I’ve done it in the past is to use the latter setup. Arms has just the arms + anims for all weapons, so your single arm mesh might have anims for firing different weapons. The arms mesh has a hand bone locator on it, which you can parent various weapon models to. The arms and weapons are both driven by a state machine that plays the firing animation and causes the weapon animation for muzzle flashes, shell ejections and the like. Basically adding a new weapon is then about adding a weapon mesh and making sure you have the available anims for firing and have arm animations for that weapon (reload, firing recoil etc). I guess the advantage to doing it that way is that you can simply reuse animations on the arms if you implement a new weapon and then have your animator add a specific animation later (so an MP5 animation might work for an AK47 or other sub-machinegun until you can get a specific one made).