Question about UClass

So I am kind of new to Unreal, but what I understand is that you need to define an object as UPROPERTY() to allow saving / restoring.

My class is a container class that has a lot of functions including and few values. I need to be able to save / restore it and have it as a variable of the player entity. I don’t need it to show up in the editor. I also have another class that is info about the people in the game world. I need to have a TArray of it inside the data container class and it also needs to be saved and restored.

So what I have understood is I should use UPROPERTY() and UCLASS() but for those I need to use the UClass as the base class. I am not sure if UObject is the right, because it’s a container class of info, not an actual object in the physical world.

UCLASS()
class I_AM_HUMAN_API UPersonInfo : public UClass
{
public:
	GENERATED_UCLASS_BODY()

};

I have included “PersonInfo.generated.h” into the header file.

But when I try to compile:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Epic Games\4.10\Engine\Source\Runtime\Core\Public\Templates\MemoryOps.h(95): error C2248: 'UPersonInfo::UPersonInfo': cannot access private member declared in class 'UPersonInfo'

I have tried adding

UPersonInfo(const class FObjectInitializer& ObjectInitializer = FObjectInitializer::Get());

but it complains that the default parameter is already defined. I have also tried making every variable in the class public and adding and removing the default constructor but nothing seems to work.

1 Like

subclass not from UClass, but UObject
UClass is for presenting type metadata.

What he means by presenting type metadata is that you can describe to UE4 information about your class.

One of the easiest examples of this is Blueprintable/NotBlueprintable. If you have a UCLASS(Blueprintable), then that will make the class show up (or not) when you try to make a blueprint class and choose a parent for it.