Question about multiple graphics cards

Hi all. I am completely new to Unreal, but have been involved with 3D modelling (architecture) and rendering for many (many!) years.

I have recently had a new workstation which is great for rendering in VRay as it has dual Xeon CPUs, each with 12/24 cores. It flies! However, the graphics card is a ‘workstation-class’ graphics card which is fine for AutoCAD and 3DSmax (though not necessarily the best for Max, it has to be said). The card is a Quadro 4000. For Unreal, card is pretty hopeless, so I am thinking about my options.

Ideally, for warranty and Dell support reasons, I would like to keep my Quadro 4000 card in the machine, but also add in an extra card, something like the Nvidia GTX 780 Ti, for use in Unreal (and for VRay RT). Is it possible to have two completely different cards in a Windows 7 machine and instruct which card should be used for which application?

For example, I want AutoCAD to use the Quadro 4000, but I’d like Unreal to use the GTX780Ti.

Anyone had any experience in ? Dell support are hopeless!

I think you would have to get a monitor for each graphics card and maybe that would work. But I would think that the GTX 780 Ti would probably have better performance than the Quadro 4000, even in 3ds Max. So you might consider running the GTX 780 Ti as your main graphics card and including the Quadro as a second one that’s not connected to anything. You can still use the Quadro for improving speed with VrayRT, it just wouldn’t run the viewports.

There’s certainly ways to do . Personally, I would simply install / fit a Nvidia card into the machine, then disable the Quadro 4000 card via the BIOS. That way, it remains within the machine still, but is simply disabled. If you don’t want to disable it, simply assign the Nivida card as the primary one, with the Quadro 4000 as a secondary.