Download

QUestion about animation importing

This might be a dumb question, I am pretty new to all of this.

SO I made a model and animations in blender, but when I bring it to Unreal Engine, it is not working correctly, parts of the models are sticking out, and generally not moving like it should. Hwat am I doing wrong? I included my Blender file here, since the forum won’t let me upload it directly
https://filebin.net/zrduf6nt38rrhlex

I just tested your model.
There few things odd to me ( you might be using a tuto very diff from what am used to) :

• Each object should have a vertex group connecting to a bone so you could set it weight.
  • Each object should have an armature in it modifier properties.

Here the steps you should follow:

• Remove all animation binding.
  • Select all your mesh, and last also select your armature, right-click>parent>with automatic weight.
  • Test by selecting your armature, go to it Pose Mode, and move the head bone.
  • If everything is good, select your head body, go to it Object Data Properties, you will see it Vertex Groups, there you can remove what bones is not needed for that body part.
  • Then you can do your animation as you already did before.

To export:

• Select all,
  •  File>Export.
  • Select selected object, Armature+Mesh.
  • Smoothing: Face,
  • Disable Add Leaf Bones,
  • Disable Bake Animation.
  • name it Robot.fbx

• Then you select your armature, file export.
  • Select selected object: Armature
  • Enable bake animation and set smoothing to face
  • name it Robot_anim.fbx

In UE4:

• import robot.fbx, enable skelatal mesh.
  • import robot_anim.fbx and it should locate your skelatal body by itself if in the same folder.

I seem some naming issue, avoid name such Body, it can cause issue.
And the bones and mesh not of same transform size can cause issue too, select your mesh Crtl+A, Apply All Transform to reset it scale and position.

Well, thank you for your reply!