Question about an official tutorial from a C++ dev who is very new to UE -- are closures possible?

I’m going through the official “Blueprint twin stick shooter” tutorial and have a question about events.

Quick background, since it’s not super relevant: I’m a professional C++ dev, but my only gaming background are hobby projects made 100% from scratch. I want to actually get something done, so I’m diving into UE4. I’m starting with blueprints to try and learn the fundamentals of how things are supposed to fit together, and then I’ll probably switch to C++. (Side question: is this a good idea, or should I just go straight to C++? so far it seems there’s way more “learn UE4” information centered around blueprints, so that’s where I decided to start)

Here’s the actual blueprint I’ll be referencing:

Here, when these objects overlap, he stores the “Hero” as a variable, and sets a timer to hit an event repeatedly until the object is no longer overlap a “HeroCharacter” object. While this timer is running, it damages the stored “Hero” variable.