Questing and Dialogue systems within a MOBA environment

Investigation into Quests and Dialogue Systems in MOBA Games

Introduction:

Before I begin I would just like to emphasise that this project is massively WIP right now, and I should be adding to this thread as I make significant progress. Also I feel that it should be mentioned that currently my end goal is simply to create a system that works as opposed to a system that looks pretty, so please forgive me if you feel that aesthetically it is not overly pleasing.

As a current university student, I have been tasked with looking at the MOBA genre and how it could be changed and “hopefully” improved. As of late the MOBA genre has been growing rapidly, with a large number of titles being released, some with new ideas (such as Smite) and others that simply fit the classic mould of the genre (League of Legends and DOTA 2).

There is one aspect of the MOBA genre that I have noticed is present in most, if not all games and that is objectives. An example of this would be the Dragon and Baron Nashor neutral minions in League of Legends, or even the jungle camps in Smite. It is these objectives that add to the strategic aspect of the games, which I feel is the most interesting area.

Because of this I have chosen to look at how implementing basic quests would impact the genre and whether or not quests and set objectives could add an extra layer of strategy to the games.

Research:

Before starting work on the practical side of the project I carried out some basic research into existing MOBA games, and other games that use questing within a multiplayer environment. The primary games I looked at here were “League of Legends” and “World of Warcraft.”