Query regarding missing textures when importing from 3ds Max

Hi there, I am new to unreal engine. I was doing a course by Hossein Mashayekhi for mastering Unreal Engine for ArchViz. I am facing an error when I export file using datasmith from 3DS(I dont use 3DS, but we got a reference model in 3DS only) and import in unreal I dont see any textures, its just the mapping in black and grey thats visible to me. I am not sure why its happening because I can see the textures in 3ds.

Without a screenshot it is hard to see exactly what is happening…but I am assuming that you are using Datasmith to export.

Many of the shader nodes in 3ds Max do not have an equivalent in Unreal Engine so Datasmith throws them out.

Also, the way that Datasmith generates materials is not very efficient or robust enough for easy end-user changes to simple parameters like “color”.

I recommend creating a generic material library in 3ds max that are named and colorized based on their type.

Such as:

Mat_Steel
Mat_Aluminum
Mat_Plastic_Rough
Mat_Plastic_Smooth
Mat_Wood

Then assign those materials to your objects / subobjects and export using Datasmith.

Now, back in Unreal Engine, I would create a material library that has all the material types I would need and functionality built in to modify them.

Such as a plastic material instance that has the parameter to change the color of the plastic easily.

When importing into Unreal Engine, you can create a “recipe” using Dataprep that will find the name of a Material and replace it with an Unreal Engine material.

Mat_Steel → MI_Steel_Clean
Mat_Aluminum → MI_Aluminum_Dirty
Mat_Plastic_Rough → MI_Plastic_Rough_Grey
Mat_Plastic_Smooth → MI_Plastic_Smooth_Tan
Mat_Wood → MI_Wood_Oak

This recipe can then be used for every project imported.