PvE Idea: Roaming gangs

Hey,

I have been playing with friends on a PvE server, while I do have fun building stuff and the occasional dino fight and stuff. I find it a bit unchallenging at times. So I have been thinking of a way to improve the PvE a bit. One of the things was an idea where at certain interval the players would get attacked by a roaming gang. The premise is quite straight forward.

A timer that runs as soon as the server starts, after each interval there is an X percent chance a roaming gang would spawn. Spawning the roaming gang picks a random player on the server. Takes his level and fellow online tribe members levels and creates a group of NPC’s appropriate to the average level of those. Give them some random weapons and let them hunt the player/tribe members.

I hope this wouldn’t be to hard to make. But considering I have no UE4 experience at all I’m curious what other more established devs think about this. I’m a profesional JAVA programmer with ANSI C and C# backgrounds, so learning C++ won’t be to much of an issue. This is what I think should do, thinking logically

• Extend the current GameType class to spawn a new thread running a Monitor class (the timer)
  • Write my own class for the spawn logic
  • Write my own class to form a group of NPC’s to spawn
  • Write my own class that instructs the group to attack the player

It doesn’t seem hard, but I’m dreading the learning curve a bit , if I have to be hounest , it’s not like opening my favorite IDE and start writing code I imagine ?

You cant do C++ part, only blueprints.
Idea is good. I got a similar idea but with kidnap option :slight_smile:

Talk to the developers of NPC Bush Peoples v6. They’re very good at responding to comments/posts on their mod page. They might have this “gang” option enabled, or could very easily add it.