Public Domain and 3D enviroments

Hi,

I’m a 3D modeler and I plan to publish a 3D environment to the marketplace. I read its guidelines an they say:

“Use of unmodified public domain content is limited to assisting with presentation, while not being the majority of the submission, and the content must have been modified so as to bring new value to the assets. Sellers must cite the source and include a link to the source content in the product’s Technical Information that includes clear public domain usage information. Epic will verify via that link that the content is in the public domain and fully redistributable.”

And now i’m a bit uncertain what to think of it. I do use a lot of CC0 Textures on my models. These are usually modified (baked on the model textures) but it will be a pain to cite the sources (especially for every model or texture). Even finding them on those websites again will be hard. Do i really have to do that?

On the other hand the CC0-licenses do not require any attribution, so why is it required here?

Also some minor models are part of the environment (let’s say a bucket or a flower pot), i plan to include them in the environment, even though i didn’t modify them significantly - except for making them “unreal ready”. Will this violate the guidelines?

Br

Hey @Begleiterkubus! Welcome to the forums!

So unfortunately all assets that fall under CC-0 will need to be cited somewhere on your product page, description, or documentation. The marketplace does comb through and try and check for that stuff as much as possible. Also, you will only have to cite the assets used themselves, not necessarily how they are used if that helps.

Unfortunately, if they do find anything on third party websites like models, textures, etc. they will have you cite it or remove it.