Proper way to re-use a blueprint for multiple instances of a mesh?

Hey all… I’m really new to Unreal, coming from the Unity world. Trying to understand some differences between the two engines.

I’ve been ramping up on Unreal and learning the Blueprint system going through a set of blueprint tutorials that started out creating a Material. I’ll call it TruckMaterial. In the blueprint for the material, we created a couple public variables.

Next we created a TruckMaterial instance, I’ll call it TruckMaterialInst. Inside the blueprint for the instance, you can set the public variables created in the base material.

Then we progressed into dropping a truck mesh into the level. Created a new blueprint for the truck by clicking Add Blueprint in the World Outliner. I’ll call it TruckBP.

TruckBP was then modified so that it could adjust the public variables in TuckMaterialInst.

This all worked. If I clicked on the Truck in the level, in the Details->Default area for the truck, I could see the ■■■■■ variables and adjust them. This all worked fine. I deleted the instance of the truck in the level. I went back and placed a new Truck into the level. I wanted to try and “attach” the TruckBP to the truck but could not figure out how to do this.

Can you, take a new instance of the Truck mesh from the content browser and apply an existing blueprint to it? Through trial and error, something… I attempted to drag the TruckBP from the Content Browser and drag and drop it onto the new instance of the Truck. What I noticed is that when I did that, I new truck appeared in my level all attached and working properly.

Is this to say that after defining the trucks initial blueprint “TruckBP”, it then acts like a Unity “Prefab”? Where once it’s been defined I can just drag and drop it back in place and reuse that blueprint rather than the default Truck from the Content/Materials/Pickuptruck mesh?

I hope all this made since! :slight_smile:

Hi ,

Welcome to Unreal!